BREAKING! NRM’s Muwonge declared winner of Kayunga LC5 by-election

NRM’s Muwonge Andrew declared winner of Kayunga LC5 by-election

The ruling National Resistance Movement candidate, Andrew Muwonge, has been declared winner of the Kayunga LC5 by-election on Friday, December 17.

In the results declared by Kayunga Electoral Commission (EC) Chairperson, Jennifer Kyobutungi, Mr. Muwonge polled 31,830 votes against Harriet Nakwedde’s 31,380.

The election attracted six candidates, including NRM’s Andrew Muwonge, NUP’s Harriet Nakweede, DP’s Anthony Waddimba and independent candidates Majid Nyanzi, Jamir Kamoga, and Boniface Bandikubi.

The Kayunga LC5 Chairperson seat fell vacant after the late Muhammad Ffeffeka Sserubogo, whose lifeless body was found dangling from a tree a month after occupying the office, calling for a by-election.

The National Unity Platform has since contested the results in the LCV by-election that has seen the NRM candidate Andrew Muwonge contraversially declared winner

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top