Four journalists win seats in 11th Parliament, Miles Rwamiti, Patrick Mujuuka defeated

NBS’s Joyce Bagala ousted ICT Minister Judith Nabakooba as Woman MP of Mityana District (PHOTO/File).

KAMPALA – Four members from the fourth estate are set to grace the walls of the August House after the January 14th general elections as legislators and not reporters as one would assume.

The new legislators include Hajj Bashir Kazibwe Mbaziira (NUP), Agnes Nandutu (IND), Joel Ssenyonyi (NUP) and Joyce Bagala (NUP).

Hajj Kazibwe who formerly worked with Vision Group, Next Media also headed the Uganda Journalists Association (UJA) for one term before joining active politics.

Kazibwe who is now the Kawempe South MP elect won the mandate of the people in the area and trounced FDC stronghold Mubarak Munyagwa.

Agnes Nandutu was a long time senior parliamentary reporter with Nation Media owned NTV. Before joining active politics, the now Bududa Woman MP elect hosted a popular talk show dubbed ‘People’s Parliament’ that saw her on the grassroots of different communities ‘bringing the parliament to the people’ in a bid to voice the people’s grievances to the concerned leaders. She tried out her luck in the NRM primaries for the slot but was won hence her decision of running as an independent.

Kazibwe who is now the Kawempe South MP elect won the mandate of the people in the area and trounced FDC stronghold Mubarak Munyagwa (PHOTO/Courtesy)

Joel Ssenyonyi also worked with NTV for over 10 years as a news anchor and TV show host. The now Nakawa West Member of Parliament elect later ditched her job at NTV and took up the mantle of being the spokesperson of the National Unity Platform (NUP) where he later nursed the dreams of contesting for the Nakawa West slot that he overwhelmingly won.

Joyce Bagala Ntwaatwa on the other hand worked with Radio One, Akaboozi and Next Media owned NBSTV as the head of news. The now newly elected Mityana Woman Member of parliament trounced the ICT and Information Minister Judith Nabakooba to emerge the winner in the highly contested election.

Bagala has for long emphasized that she will be keen on outlining the issues affecting the media fraternity by ensuring that the profession is respected by all government entities especially the security teams who have been so evident in violating the Press freedom.

Other media personalities who had wished to give it a shot in the 11th parliament include Spark TV’s Miles Rwamiti for Hoima East MP seat on the FDC ticket, TOP TV’s Joan Lule for Mpigi District Woman MP, CBS FM’s Patrick Mujuuka for MP Nakifuma and BEAT FM’s Katongole Omutongole for Baale County.

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top