FULL LIST: NRM, DP will have no single representative at City Hall as NUP wins 41 out of 44 seats in rude thumping

NRM will have zero representation at KCCA City Hall (PHOTO/Courtesy).

The National Unity Platform (NUP) of Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine has wiped out the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) in Kampala after the budding party won 41 out of the 44 Seats for the directly elected and woman Councillors to Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA).

In a cruel defeat, the NRM took a drubbing in a vote marked by the record-low turnout.

Forum for Democratic Change only managed three seats. Those on FDC ticket include Kampala Deputy Mayor Doreen Nyanjura who represents Makerere University and Micdad Muganga Makerere University Lord Councillor and Namazzi Olive who won in Nakawa A.

This means, NRM and Democratic Party DP will have no single representative at city hall.

Many of them finished in the second position as the tide swang in favour of NUP.

NUP clinched 11 positions in Makindye, Nine in Nakawa, 10 in Lubaga three in Kampala central and Eight in Kawempe Division.

Mavis Nakitende who won in the woman Councilor Kampala Central seat told URN she will focus on fighting corruption.

Faustino Nalubega who was elected to represent Makindye dedicated her win to Kyagulanyi, the leader of the NUP and the new face of change in Uganda.

The win means Kampala City Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago who has been re-elected for a third term under the FDC ticket will have to work with the majority of the NUP Councilors. Lukwago told journalists after he was declared the winner that he would work with the team since they are both in the opposition and are pursuing change for Uganda.

Winners by Electoral Areas

Kawempe Division

Gadafi Kamya Jaffar

Nusifa Nakato

Saulo Kulya Zziwa

Julius Kateregga

Faustah Nakabuubi

Bonny Bukenya

Boniface Mushin Kakande

Doreen Nyanjura (FDC)

Micdad Muganga (FDC)


Lilian Nakakande

Immaculate Nalwadde

Winnie Nansubuga

Faisal Ssebayiga

Kibirige Nkugwa FaIzol

Innocent Tegusulwa

Charles Mpindi

Chaggason Twaha Abdul

Ssebuwufu John Mary

Olive Namazzi (FDC)

Makindye Division

Mohammed Wasswa Mwanje

Ivan Wafula

Mosh Ssendi Afrikan

Paul Kato

Kenneth Male

Elimia Masembe

Richard Sembatya

Maala Zahara Luyirika

Annet Kyeswa

Hellen Namukwaya

Lubaga Division

Kiiza Hakim Sawula

Ivan Mubiru

Jeremiah Mwanje Keeya

Solome Nakiridde

Sebina Rita Nakubulwa

James Mubiru

Rose Kigozi Nalubwama

Farida Nakabugo

Daniel Stephen Ssemuli

Munir Ssemakula

Kampala central

Francis Mbazira

Moses Katabaazi

Mavis Nakitende

Additional reporting by URN

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Henry nyika

    22/01/2021 at 8:40 AM

    Am so great full nrm is out of Kampala and nearby cities and districts
    I pray Lord that Lord mayor work together with those councilors to take Kampala forward and Uganda and at large

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top