FULL LIST: NUP appoints Mpuuga Leader of Opposition as Ssenyonyi, Nambeshe and Zaake eat big

Mathias Mpuuga appointed Leader of Opposition in Parliament (PHOTO /Courtesy)

KAMPALA — Nyendo Mukungwe Division Masaka City MP, has been appointed leader of opposition in Parliament, FDC’s Betty Aol Ocan, whose party lost majority opposition members to National Unity Platform.

Mr. Mpuuga’s appointment by Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu during a party meeting at Kamwokya did not come as a surprise because Masaka voted overwhelmingly for NUP at national and local levels.

Mpuuga is said to have played an instrumental role in this performance, hence the reward.

Relatedly, Manjiya County MP John Baptist Nambeshe is the new opposition chief whip, replacing Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Semujju Nganda.

Party President Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu aka Bobi Wine said the his party has consistently informed the country that it will take leadership positions available to it and use them to advance the struggle for freedom and democracy in Uganda.

According, he said the party has continued the leadership of the minority side in the 11th Parliament of Uganda as below:

Leader of Opposition: Mathias Mpuuga — Nyendo Mukungwe

Opposition Chief Whip — John Baptist Nambeshe — Manjiya County

Deputy Chief Whip — Kyebakutika Manjeri —Jinja City Woman MP

Commissioner of Parliament — Francis Zaake Butebi — Mityana Municipality

Chairperson Public Accounts Committee — Medard Lubega Ssegona — Busiro East

Vice Chairperson Public Accounts Committee — Asuman Basalirwa — Bugiri Municipality

Chairperson COSASE — Joel Ssenyonyi — Nakawa West

Chairperson Government Assurances — Betty Nambooze Bakireke — Mukono Municipality.

Vice Chairperson Government Assurances — Joseph Ssewungu —Kalungu County West

Chairperson Local Government Accounts Committee — Ojara Martin Mapenduzi — Bardeg-Laybi Constituency Gulu District

Vice Chairperson Local Government Accounts Committee — Paulson Luttamaguzi Ssemakula — Nakaseke South Constituency

Representative Pan African Parliament — Patrick Nsamba Oshabe — Kassanda County North

Representative Commonwealth Parliament Association — David Kalwanga Lukyamuzi — Busujju County

Representative Inter Parliamentary Union — Flavia Kalule Nabagabe — Kassanda District Woman MP.

Parliamentary Pension Fund — Aisha Kabanda — Butambala Woman MP

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top