FULL LIST: NUP’s Zaake, other Parliamentary Commissioners confirmed

Mityana Municipality Member of Parliament Francis Zaake Butebi has been confirmed as a Commissioner of Parliament (PHOTO /Courtesy)

KAMPALA — Mityana Municipality Member of Parliament Francis Zaake Butebi has been confirmed as a Commissioner of Parliament for the 11th Parliament.

The Parliamentary Commission is the top administrative organ of Parliament charged with several critical functions including recruiting and managing parliamentary staff; ensuring proper security for Parliament and its Members; as well as preparing Parliament’s annual budget, among other functions necessary for its efficient running.

The Commission is composed of 8 members led by the Speaker of Parliament.

Others are the Leader of Opposition; the Prime Minister; the Minister of Finance; and 4 ordinary Members of Parliament, 3 of whom are from NRM and one from the Opposition combined.

Zaake who was nominated by the National Unity Platform Party to represent the opposition pledged e to play his part in the execution of these duties with utmost diligence and good faith.

“At the same time, I will leverage this position to intensify my contribution to our collective struggle for democratic governance,” he said.

“We must occupy all spaces that the law still reserves for us no matter the odds against us. Those who stand for the truth are usually few and theirs tends to seem like a losing battle, but they always triumph in the end”.

“I believe that if the few of us lead by good example, the rest of the Commission may be persuaded to make decisions in the best interests of our country”.

“I am grateful to my Party for entrusting me with this huge responsibility; a kind that will inevitably cast me as a mirror image of what other youth are capable of if given an opportunity to deliver. With God as my guiding light, I shall vindicate your confidence in me in particular and youth in general”.

Fill list of Parliamentary Commissioners of the 11th Parliament

The Commissioners of the Eleventh Parliament include the Speaker, Jacob L. Oulanyah (MP) – Chairperson, Deputy Speaker, Anita Among (MP) – Member, Prime Minister and Leader of Government Business, Robinah Nabbanja (MP) – Member and Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, Mathias Mpuuga (MP NUP) – Member.

Others include Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Hon. Matia Kasaija (MP) – Member, Francis Zaake (MP- NUP) – Backbench Member, Solomon Silwany (MP) – Backbench Member, Esther Afwoyochan (MP) – Backbench Member, Prossy Mbabazi Akampurira (MP) – Backbench Member and the Clerk to Parliament/Secretary, Jane L. Kibirige.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Oulanyah, Among and LoP Mpuuga get press secretaries - UgStandard

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top