Business

How to turn off ‘last seen’ on WhatsApp and hide your online status from contacts

Tap on Account and then tap on Privacy in it. Now finally tap on Last seen to change it from Everyone (info will be visible to all) to My contacts (Will not be visible to people other than WhatsApp contacts) or Nobody (No one can see the info and neither can you see their Last Seen info)

WhatsApp is the world’s most popular messaging app, allowing people around the globe to send text messages, pictures and videos and make voice calls for free.

But for all its benefits, there are some aspects of the app that are a little annoying, to say the least.

One is the app’s “last seen” feature, which allows other users to see when you last used the app.

So even if you don’t open a message and activate the read receipt, the sender will know that you’ve been online on the app.

If you have WhatsApp open in the foreground on your device and you are connected to the internet, they will also be able to see that you are online.

This can, of course, lead to accusations from friends and partners that you are deliberately ignoring them.

If you’re a little lax about replying promptly to messages, it may be in your interest to turn off this feature in WhatsApp:

How to turn off WhatsApp ‘last seen’ on iPhone

  • Launch WhatsApp
  • Tap “Settings”, located at the bottom right corner.
  • Tap “Account”
  • Tap “Privacy”
  • Change your last seen status from “Everyone” to “Contacts” (so it’ll only be visible to your WhatsApp contacts) or to “Nobody”

Tap on Account and then tap on Privacy in it. Now finally tap on Last seen to change it from Everyone (info will be visible to all) to My contacts (Will not be visible to people other than WhatsApp contacts) or Nobody (No one can see the info and neither can you see their Last Seen info)

How to turn off WhatsApp ‘last seen’ on Android

  • Launch WhatsApp
  • Tap the Menu button
  • Tap “Settings”
  • Tap “Account”
  • Tap “Privacy”
  • The option to hide your last seen status can be found here

It’s worth noting that, if that you don’t share your “last seen”, you won’t be able to see other people’s “last seen”.

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top