National Archives

List of Chief Justices of Uganda and the composition of Supreme Court


Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo the new Chief Justice

Current Chief Justice of Uganda Owiny-Dollo (PHOTO/Courtesy)

KAMPALA — The Supreme Court of Uganda is the highest judicial organ in Uganda. It derives its powers from Article 130 of the 1995 Constitution. It is primarily an appellate court with original jurisdiction in only one type of case: a presidential election petition.

The Supreme Court is headed by the Chief Justice and has ten other justices.

The quorum required for a court decision varies depending on the type of case under consideration.

When hearing a constitutional appeal, the required quorum is seven justices. In a criminal or a civil appeal, only five justices are required for a quorum.

In the absence of the chief justice, the most senior member of the court presides. The court sits eight sessions a year with a break of two weeks between sessions to conduct research and write judgments. It has the power to uphold, reverse, substitute its judgment, or order a new trial when hearing an appeal from a lower court.

As of 22 August 2020, the following justices sat on the Supreme Court;

Alfonse Owiny-Dollo, Chief Justice of Uganda

Stella Arach-Amoko
Esther Mayambala Kitimbo Kisaakye
Eldad Mwangusya
Rubby Opio Aweri
Faith Essy Mwondha

Lillian Tibatemwa-Ekirikubinza

Paul Mugamba

Michael Chibita

Ezekiel Muhanguzi

Percy Tuhaise

List of chief justices of Uganda

Since 2020 Alfonse OWiny-Dollo

Bart Magunda Katureebe —2015 – 2020

Steven Kavuma (acting) 2013 – 2015

Benjamin Josses Odoki 2001 – 2013

Samuel Wako Wambuzi — 1986 – 2001

Peter Allen — 1985 – 1986

George Masika — 1980 – 1985

Samuel Wako Wambuzi — 1979 – 1980

Mohammed Saied —
1975 – 1979

Samuel Wako Wambuzi — 1972 – 1975

Benedicto Kiwanuka — 1971 – 1972

Dermot Joseph Sheridan— 1969 – 1971

Egbert Udo Udoma — 1963 – 1969

K. G. Bennet (acting) —
1962 – 1963

Uganda Protectorate
1956 – 1962 Audley McKisack

1952 – 1956 John Bowes Griffin

1947 – 1952 David Edwards

1937 – 1947 Norman Whitley

1935 – 1937 Robert Evans Hall

1935 John Harry Barclay Nihill (acting)

1933 – 1934 Sidney Solomon Abrahams

1921 – 19nn Charles James Griffin

19nn – 1920 William Morris Carter

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top