Prof Balunywa , Hon Baryanga , Adoa eat big at 2023 National Integrity Awards

Tuesday evening marked the climax of the National Citizen Integrity Awards 2023 where outstanding individuals were recognized for their distinguished service.

The 2023 Integrity Awards winners (Courtesy photo)

Over 600 individuals were nominated into these awards from all subregions across the country and 15 emerged winners  walked home with plaques at glamorous event which was held at Hotel Africana Kampala.

Management Obligation Category

Prof.  Balunywa Waiswa , the Principal of Makerere University Business School (MUBS) emerged the overall winner for the Management Obligation Award.He was credited for having revolutionized business education and spearheading the private students’ scheme in Uganda that has become a model for many universities across the country and region.

He developed a PhD programme with over 140 PhD holders to date. Started MUBS upcountry campuses in Jinja, Arua, Mbale and Mbarara to increase access to education. Through his Balunywa Foundation has trained over 3000 vulnerable young people in Iganga district enabling them to start their own businesses and some of them were able to join formal institutions as employees.

The first runner up in this category was Bakak Andrew Ronald , the Deputy Resident District Commissioner for Kabale District who is discribed as corrupt free man, honest, hardworking and non-discriminatory in working with people.

Moses Wambi , an Education and Curriculum specialist was the second runner up being recognized as being trustworthy with public funds and enhancing proper accountability especially as Deputy Principal Bishop at Wills Core PTC which earned him a promotion.

Prof. Waswa Balunywa receiving his plaque on Tuesday evening at Hotel Africana.

Political Category

The overall winner under this category was Hon Andrew Aja Baryanga , the Kabale Municipality Member of Parliament. He was recognized for having taken a role in lowering of Hydro Electricity Power tariffs after challenging the Inspector General of Government (IGG) inquiry on the Karuma hydropower project in the constitutional court.

In the 9th Parliament, he served on the Committee on Commissions, State Authorities & State Enterprises, and the Committee on Natural Resources where he challenged the Inspector General of Government (IGG) inquiry on the Karuma hydropower project in the constitutional court. As a result, tariff prices were lowered, and the local citizen is benefiting from the national grid.

He also constructed a children’s church at St. James Kijjuguta Church of Uganda where kids no longer sit on the floor or hold services outside.

Hon. Kassiano Wadri Ezati , former Member of Parliament for Terego County and former COSASE Chairperson was the 1st Runner up. He was celebrated for sponsoring several students in the constituency, he has maintained close contact with electorates and he is accountable person who fulfils most of his pledges without conditions.

The 2nd Runners up under this category is Hon Hellen Adoa Abeku , the Women Member of Parliament for Serere district at the same time the state minister for Fisheries in the Ugandan Cabinet.

She was described as a consistent anticorruption crusader who encourages the concept of naming and shaming, has spoken out eliminating illegal fishing practices on the lakes including corruption tendencies amongst the Uganda Police and UPDF soldiers who have been extorting money from fishermen inform of bribes and tips.

Minister Hon Hellen Adoa was among the winners.

Frontline Service Obligation Category

Dr. Morris Ocwedda seasoned retired Veterinary Surgeon with vast experience in rural extension services based in Zombo won this category. He was recognized because even after retiring from his active service, he currently offers free quality extension services to grassroot populations with a high level of honesty and integrity. As a member of the District Service Commission, he has demonstrated high level of integrity in the recruitment process.

The 1st runner up was Akello Edith, a registered Midwife who  has served Iganga District Local Government since May 2011. She currently works at Iganga General Hospital in the maternity ward. Edith exhibits unwavering integrity, both in her professional conduct and in interactions with patients, colleagues and the community at large.

Outstanding Performance

Also in the category of outstanding performance was Hon Hellen Adoa and Agness Akello a dedicated traffic officer who has served in the directorate without having any corruption allegation against her.

On addressing the gathering at the event, Francis Xavier Ejoyi , the Country Director of Action Aid International Uganda urged the winners to keep up the good morals

“We are excited that this process is becoming more competitive , citizens are now recognizing the importance of this in shaping the kind of public officials that they want to serve them.”

He added that corruption is biggest hinderance in eradicating poverty thus the need for all stake holders to join efforts to attack the vice.

Rev Borand Matovu , one of the panelists congratulated the winners as he encouraged those who didn’t take the awards to maintain their integrity because next time they may be the winners. “We worked as a committee in the vetting process and therefore i request you to accept the results because all people can’t win at the same time.” he added



To Top