Tours & Travel

UAE bans entry of travellers from Uganda, DR Congo and Zambia over surging Covid-19 infections

UAE bans entry of travellers from Zambia, DR Congo and Uganda over Coronavirus

KAMPALA — The United Arab Emirates has suspended the entry for travellers coming from Uganda, Zambia, the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The measure, which will be effective from June 11 is part of efforts to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the state news agency WAM said on Wednesday.

The ban applies to transit passengers, in addition to passengers who have traveled through the three countries in the last 14 days prior to their arrival into the UAE, state news agency WAM reported.

Emirati citizens, diplomatic passport holders, and official delegations are exempt from the measures.

Transit flights from the UAE to the affected countries, in addition to cargo flights, will continue to operate.

Uganda implemented one of Africa’s tightest lockdowns at the beginning of the pandemic more than a year ago, but it was gradually lifted as cases slowed to a trickle.

Click to comment

Dear our estimated reader, what is your take about this topic?

Most Popular

To Top