EACJ receives the Bureau of East African Community Speakers

 The Judge President of the East African Court together with other Judges of the Appellate Division, received the Rt. Hon. Speakers of the National Parliaments of the EAC Partner States (The Bureau of the EAC Speakers) at the Court’s premises.

East African Court President, with some of the delegates who participated in the engagement.

The Rt Hon. Speakers from the EAC Partner States, who were attending their 15th meeting in Arusha, paid
a courtesy call on the Judge President of EACJ to learn about the EACJ.
His Lordship Justice Nestor Kayobera in his remarks, expressed his gratitude to the Rt. Hon Speakers for finding time to visit the Court, which is the first of its kind in the last 22 years of the Court’s existence.
He told the Rt. Hon Speakers that, the Court has decided very many cases against the Governments, such
as Cases on the Appointment of Members of the East African Legislative Assembly among other cases.
He strongly emphasized that, the Court belongs to the People, “Therefore, this is your Court and your visit is very important to enable you understand these cases”. Said Justice Kayobera.
 His Lordship commended
the Partner States for implementing the decisions of the Court.
The Judge President also informed the Rt. Hon. Speakers that, the Court currently is composed of a total of 11 Judges, that is 6 in the First Instance Division and 5 in the Appellate Division. He added that the Republic of South Sudan and Democratic Republic of Congo cannot appoint Judges to the EACJ Appellate Division until the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community is amended to allow more Judges be appointed to that Division, as new Member States join Community.
He further said that, the
Treaty allows a total of 10 Judges to be appointed to the First Instance Division of the Court and that DRC is in the process of appointing a Judge.
On her part, The Chairperson of the Bureau of the EAC Speakers & Speaker of the Transitional National  Legislative Assembly of South Sudan, the Rt. Hon. Jemma Nunu Kumba, congratulated the EACJ for all the cases determined and that the Parliaments appreciate the work of the Court in ensuring justice in the
EAC Integration.
She thanked the Rt. Hon. Speaker of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) who invited them.
“We have taken note that the Court belongs to us, as the President of the Court has indicated and we
pledge our support where need arises.” Stated Rt. Hon. Jemma
The EALA Speaker, Rt. Hon. Joseph Ntakirutimana, commended the EACJ President and the Judges for
receiving the Speakers and urged to continue working together as EAC Organs for the benefit of all East
The other Rt. Hon. Speakers present during the Courtesy call led by the Chairperson were, The Rt. Hon
Gelase Ndabirabe, President of the National Assembly of Burundi, The Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Sinzohagera,
President of the Burundi Senate, The Rt. Hon Mukabaramba Alvera, Vice President of the Rwanda Senate
and Senator, Hillary Kiprotich Sigei, representing the Speaker of the Kenya Senate.

To Top