FULL LIST: Why NRM caucus unanimously approved party incumbents to EALA for reelection

National Chairman of the NRM, Gen Yoweri Museveni told the Caucus what informed CEC’s decision to retain the current members.

National Chairman of the NRM, Gen Yoweri Museveni told the Caucus what informed CEC’s decision to retain the current members.

KAMPALA — The National Resistance Movement (NRM) Parliamentary caucus has this afternoon unanimously approved the recommendation made by the party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC) to retain the six incumbent representatives at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The six representatives are Rose Akol, Kakooza James, Mugyenyi Mary, Musamali Paul, Namara Denis, and Odongo George Stephen.

National Chairman of the NRM, Gen Yoweri Museveni told the Caucus what informed CEC’s decision to retain the current members.

“The reason we recommended that we maintain these six are two: one, the precedent that we started in the past is that when we send representatives to EALA, we give them a second chance,” Mr. Museveni said.

The NRM Chairman said that the other reason was the cohesion shown by the six members during their concluding tenure.

“In the past, we have had disharmony of our members but this group has behaved differently. They have been cohesive. They have performed well as a group,” Museveni said.

The motion was then moved and seconded. The Caucus, thereafter, unanimously approved the recommendation.

On the remaining three that come from other parties with representation in Parliament, the Caucus agreed to support those from the friendly parties like Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Democratic Party (DP).

President  Museveni previously endorsed Counsel Phiona Rwandarugali, an independent candidate to the party top organ citing her abilities and qualifications.

The President who personally interviewed Counsel Rwandarugali during an NRM Central Executive Committee (CEC) meeting in July praised the youthful EALA aspirant for her unique abilities, attributes and ideas for the region.

Counsel Rwandarugali whose agenda is hinged on regional integration including the much sought-after Customs Union, the Common Market, and the Monetary Union, focusing on compliance among East African Community (EAC) the Member States regarding regional policies says that as Uganda’s representative in Arusha, Tanzania she would ensure that the country negotiates and ensures that the region federates politically and that member states also comply with regional policies.

The NRM Secretary General, Richard Todwong, said that CEC received 130 applicants for the EALA slots and after sometime, 64 decided to withdraw.

According to Todwong, Resolution 9 of the 4th CEC meeting resolved that CEC recommends to retain the incumbent members. The NRM Chief Whip in Parliament, Hamson Obua, revealed that since the last caucus meeting held on August 19, Parliament has passed nine bills.

These include The Anti-Terrorism Bill, The Companies Bill, The Trustee Incorporation Bill, The Anti- Money Laundering Bill, The
Cooperative Societies Bill, The Partnership Bill, The Excise Duty Bill, and the Museum and Monuments Bill.

Obua rallied members of the Caucus to support the party candidates when they are presented to Parliament.

“The road map is out; nominations are on September 19 and 20, 2022, and polling day is September 29, 2022. Please, commit to ensure that the decision of the Caucus is upheld as we move towards the voting day,” Obua said.

The Chief Whip thanked President Museveni and the CEC for the wise guidance given to the party.

The six incumbent EALA representatives all thanked the President, CEC and Caucus for supporting their candidature.

“We will not let you down, nor our country nor East Africa,” they said.

They requested the MPs to vote for them come the polling days in Parliament.

The meeting held at Kololo Independence grounds was attended by, among others, the Vice President, Jessica Alupo and the First Lady and Minister of Education and Sports, Janet Museveni.


Most Popular

To Top