Parliament approves creation of new cities

Parliament has on Tuesday April 28 approved the creation of new cities after 312 out of 313 Members of Parliament who were present have voted in favour of the development and only one was against it.

The Minister of state for Mineral Development Sarah Opendi voted against the motion to create new cities and municipalities, stating that it’s not right for Parliament to consider creation of new cities without first knowing the economic implication of Covid-19.

Opendi wanted consideration of the approval of these cities wait until the minister of finance present a statement on the status of the economy as the country is facing COVID-19 pandemic.

She said that the budget that was passed by Parliament does not fully address the demands of some of the local governments, town councils and sub counties.

Cities which shall take effect on 1st July 2020 include; Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Mbarara, Fort Portal, Mbale and Masaka.

Hoima, Soroti and Lira shall take effect on 1st July 2021.

Entebbe shall take effect on 1st July 2022.

Moroto, Nakasongola, Kabale and Wakiso Cities shall take effect on 1st July 2023.

It’s estimated that about Shs130b will be budgeted for the operation of these cities.

Busiro East MP Merdad sseggona plea for Wakiso and Entebbe cities to be operational in 2022 instead of Wakiso being in 2023 was rejected.


The Latest

To Top