Parliament’s Appointments Committee concludes vetting of Judges, Ministers

DP’s Nobert Mao has been vetted for Justice Ministerial role (PHOTO /Courtesy).

KAMPALA — The Appointments Committee of Parliament chaired by Speaker of Parliament Anita Among, has successfully completed the vetting exercise of Judicial officers and Ministers that were appointed by President Museveni.

In accordance with Parliament’s Rules of Procedure, the committee on appointments, which is chaired by the Speaker, shall be responsible for approving, on behalf of Parliament, the appointment of persons nominated for appointment by the President under the Constitution, or any other appointments required to be approved by Parliament under any law.

Among those who were vetted is Democratic Party President Norbert Mao who was, on Thursday July 2oth, appointed Minister for Justice and constitutional affairs.

Maos’s appointment came just a day after a meeting with President Museveni at State House on July 20th during which the two signed a pact of corporation.

The Appointments Committee of Parliament chaired by Speaker of Parliament Anita Among has vetted Ministers and Judges (PHOTO /Courtesy)

The committee also interfaced with:

• Hon Justice Linda Lilian Tumusiime who was appointed Acting Head Judge of the Industrial Court.

• Mr Wabwire Musana Anthony Patrick as acting Judge of the Industrial Court

High court Judges:

• Ikit Mary
• Singiza Karekona Douglas
• Matovu Nassuna Flavia
• Samuel Emokor
• Susan Kanyange
• Namanya Bernard
• Patricia Kahiigi Asiimwe
• OcayaThomas Ojele Rubanga
• Christine Kaahwa
• Patricia Mutesi
• Okello George
• Bukirwa Faridah Shamilah
• MagalaHarriet Grace
• Acellam Collins
• Nagawa Ceila
• Nshimye Allan Paul Mbabazi

President Museveni also appointed Hamson Obua as Government Chief Whip, Akello Beatrive Akori as State Minister for Economic monitoring and Peter Ogwang as State minister for Sports in a letter dated July 21st,2022.


Most Popular

To Top