Tina Wamala elected President as PRAU gets new Governing Council 2023-2025

Tina Wamala elected PRAU president (PHOTO/Courtesy).

The Public Relations Association of Uganda (PRAU) today held their 45th election and Annual General Meeting held at Kati Kati Restaurant on 25th February 2023.

Tina Wamala has been elected the new President of the Public Relations Association of Uganda (PRAU) and takes over from Stephen Mwanga, who has served his full term 2020-2022.

Tina Wamala becomes the new President of the Public Relations Association of Uganda (PRAU) following her unopposed election at the Annual General Meeting held on February 25, 2023. Wamala, who serves as the Communications Officer at the British High Commission, takes over from Stephen Mwanga, who successfully completed his term from 2020-2022.

At the AGM, members reviewed the association’s performance over the past two years, approved new policies and recommendations, and reviewed the PRAU Constitution.

The hybrid event also saw the election of a new team of leaders, including Paul Mwirigi as Vice President, Jennifer Kalule Musamba as Deputy Secretary General, and Jackie Tahakanizibwa as Programmes Director.

Outgoing & Incoming Governing Council

Outgoing & Incoming Governing Council

Additionally, Stella Marion Athieno was elected as Director of Public Relations, Christine Birungi as Treasurer, Sooma Mukyala Fouziya as Director of Discipline, and Phillip Brian Tumusiime and Pius Lubwama as Student Representatives.

During the AGM, members discussed ways to improve the association and interacted with each other. Stephen Mwanga praised the new Governing Council for their commitment and encouraged members to contribute to the growth of PR in Uganda.

‘I am confident that the new GC will carry PRAU forward with resilience and commitment. Thanks to the 2022-2024 Governing Council for their sacrifice and diligence in serving PRAU, said Stephen Mwanga, the outgoing PR President.

The outgoing team of leaders includes Stephen Mwanga as President, Tina Wamala–Vice President, Allen Ssempa-Secretary General, Kezia Koburungi–Deputy Secretary General, Jackie Tahakanizibwa – Programmes Director, Lyn Tukei as Director of Public Relations, Charles Nsamba as Treasurer, Yvonne Mpanga as Director Discipline and Joseph Kakooza – Student Representative.

‘Thank you for entrusting me with this responsibility of leading our association. I pledge to promote PR excellence in Uganda. I am determinized to actualize the initiatives started by the outgoing GC starting with statutory recognition and professional development of PRAU members through PRAU’s partnership with the Department of Journalism and Communication at Makerere University, ‘ said Tina Wamala, the incoming Presidebt of PRAU.

Tina also pledged to support and mentor the young generation of PR professionals who are the future of PR in Uganda.

To Top